Game of Thrones themed Cocktail #2: The Dornishman’s Wife

The picture is awful, I am not particularly great at mixology but my photography skills and cellphone are pretty diabolical.  There is a cinnamon stick in there but it had the audacity to sink before I took the picture.

 

So this week I was inspired by the song The Dornishman’s Wife which features in both the books and the show (which I feel it’s only polite to encourage you to buy if you haven’t already…).

bronn-game-of-thrones

Anyway the song goes like this:

The Dornishman’s wife was as fair as the sun,

and her kisses were warmer than spring.

But the Dornishman’s blade was made of black steel,

and its kiss was a terrible thing.

The Dornishman’s wife would sing as she bathed,

in a voice that was sweet as a peach,

But the Dornishman’s blade had a song of its own,

and a bite sharp and cold as a leech.

As he lay on the ground with the darkness around,

and the taste of his blood on his tongue,

His brothers knelt by him and prayed him a prayer,

and he smiled and he laughed and he sung,

“Brothers, oh brothers, my days here are done,

the Dornishman’s taken my life,

But what does it matter, for all men must die,

and I’ve tasted the Dornishman’s wife!”

 

Which I have borrowed from A Wiki of Ice and Fire, but it sounds about how I remember it from the books.  So the inspiration was really just the reference to peaches and so I could be a nerd and sing “I’ve tasted the Dornishman’s wife” at the end of it.  You may notice that this is in fact the exact same base alcohol as last week, my drinks cabinet is a little sparse at the moment.  It is however a very different tasting drink to A Mule of Ice and Fire.

 

Recipe:

(Serves 4)

Ingredients:

4 shots vodka

3 shots triple sec

1 1/2 peaches (I used canned, there are no local fresh peaches in Haiti)

~1/2 cup peach juice (I used from concentrate but if you have fresh peaches I’m sure it will be much better)

Garnish:

Limes, cut into wedges

Cinnamon sticks

Cinnamon sugar (1 part cinnamon, 1 part white sugar)

 

  1. Blend the peaches (without the skin) into the alcohol and add the peach juice to taste
  2. Once again if you have a cocktail shaker this is probably nice shaken with ice, I just mixed it with the hand blender and served it over some ice
  3. Make a cut in each lime wedge and use to wet the rim of the glass
  4. Coat the rim in cinnamon sugar and pop the lime back on
  5. Add a cinnamon stick and a slice of peach, try not to let them sink…
  6. Drink
  7. Et voila, you have tasted the Dornisman’s wife

 

Perhaps crushed ice would prevent the cinnamon stick from disappearing into the abyss as mine did.

 

Note: My “shots” are measure out in some cheap plastic multi-coloured shot glasses of unknown origin, who knows the conversion to actual bar measures.

 

Next week we will aim for something bitter to fit the tone of the show and to minimise our dental caries risk.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

