I only came back for GoT…

I only came back for GoT but I promise I have been imbibing just as much during this dragon-free hiatus.

 

Most people use their blogs to share their perfected, well practiced recipes, not me! So \i present to you a planned drink that was never to be and the alternative I settled for.

 

In the excitement of the build up to series 7 I re-watched the last episode of 6 and without any spoilers I can tell you the goosebumps inspired me to call this one Fire and Blood.

 

The plan:

Fire and Blood (a take on a Manhattan)

1 oz chili infused whisky (it doesn’t have to be Scotch, I just insist on spelling it this way…)

1/2 oz sweet red Vermouth (I use Martini brand as it’s all I have available)

1/2 oz cherry liqueur (I use Giffard because it’s a’ll I have available)

Generous dash Angostura bitters, to balance the liqueur

 

Combine everything with ice, shake and strain into a chilled martini glass and garnish with a pinch of cayenne pepper

 

I tend to infuse my spirits with scotch bonnet style chilies for 5-8 hours.  I cut them lengthwise and de-seed before infusion; this is still pretty hot if you use enough chilies (around 5 per 750 ml bottled spirit) but you could play with less (or more!) and leave the seeds in.

 

Unfortunately I returned home with this plan to find that my chilies were mouldy and that I did not have Vermouth; where it went is anyone’s guess but it’s probably best we do not investigate further.

 

The last minute replacement:

Fire and Blood 2.0

1 oz rye (I used Ragtime Rye, a personal favourite)

1 oz cherry liqueur

1/2 oz Cointreau

Dash Angostura bitters

Generous dash Tabasco

 

Combine all ingredients with ice, shake and strain into a martini glass (or in my case some kind of pudding bowl).  Garnish with crushed red chili flakes and a pinch of cayenne pepper.

This drink was not nearly red enough for it’s name, even with the whole ounce of liqueur.  It looked more like haenolysed blood.  However I have come to the conclusion that it is the appearance of blood scorched with dragon fire.  This is actually delicious, the heat really cuts through all the sweetness from the liqueur; though I would still describe it as a sweet drink.

 

Does not look even remotely appetising…

IMAG0589

 

Please feel free to try out and play with either recipe.  I will be going back to try number one soon enough.

 

Tonight’s drink is such a disaster that I can’t even face writing about it right now.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

