Stormborn

So the drink last week was a total disaster.

The episode was called “Stormborn” so I was inspired to do a take on a Hurricane.   However I wasn’t feeling particularly inspired and ended up deciding to wing it, which is never a good idea.  I went grocery shopping on the Sunday with the aim of buying passion fruits and something fun to add to the drink.  There were no passion fruits, there was no passion fruit syrup, I was left with cheap, from concentrate, passion fruit juice; FYI this is not an appropriate substitute in this drink.  For the something fun I was really struggling, and then I found a lonely bottle of Chadeque (local grapefruit wine) on the shelf, and decided that this was it.

Needless to say, this story ends up like every other one of mine.  Come Sunday I looked at the bottle of Chadeque and found a huge ball of mould floating at the top along with several of it’s friends lurking in the bottom, so that was out.  My “Hurricane” was white rum, passion fruit juice and lime.  I refuse to post it in the form of a recipe as it was so bland and over sweet that I will never make it again; I shan’t even state the quantities I used.

 

So, why am I even writing this?  Since my disaster I decided to find out more about the drink and the possibilities for adaptation.

 

I had my first ever Hurricane in New Orleans, at the famous Pat O’Brien’s, while it was a fun drink for a fun time I am led to believe this dangerous drink containing something like 3 rums and your daily sugar intake is not the original form of this drink.  According to The Kitchn this drink originally only contained dark rum, passion fruit syrup and lime, the addition of grenadine, more sugar and other tropical fruits came later.  To be honest I am not a big fan of grenadine, if I want to make a drink red there are so may other delicious options (at this point I should not refer you to last week’s drink disaster…).  In fact I am currently dabbling in red wine as a cocktail ingredient, watch this space.  Additionally it seems that the red/pink hue of the drink was originally thanks to fassionola syrup, a blend of lime, pineapple, mango, passion fruit, strawberries and hibiscus (presumably the colour is coming from the latter two ingredients).  You can buy this from Cocktail & Sons but it looks like we just missed out on this years Louisiana strawberry crop, as it is currently out of stock.  I will be setting a calendar reminder for next year to make sure I get my hands on a bottle of this.

 

So how can you jazz up a Hurricane without adding all that sugar or mouldy wine?  I am particularly inspired from learning of the inclusion of hibiscus in some of the original recipes and a quick google tells me that I am not the only one, here is a recipe for a hibiscus Hurricane.  The national flower of Haiti is the hibiscus flower, and I in fact love this flower so much I’ve had it permanently etched on my body, so I feel the need to pursue this further.  Additional to hibiscus syrup you can also buy hibiscus wine here; I am aiming to buy a bottle sans fungus.

 

I am also thinking about strawberries, there is a place in the mountains here growing some very delicious strawberries (though I believe we are now also out of season) which I have been using to make a delicious strawberry and basil mojito.  So a strawberry simple syrup alone added to the basic rum+lime+passion fruit could be a winner although still very sweet.  On this note, the dark rum here, while delicious, seems to contain so much sugar I get a headache just looking at it.  So perhaps this is a task for those of you who know your rums a little better; is there a more balanced dark rum that can handle a sweet strawberry syrup?

 

Heading back down the chadeque route, I like the idea of trying blood orange or grapefruit, something tart.

 

Since literally all of these things are locally available but out of season (passion fruit, strawberries, grapefruit…) this will remain a work in progress.  I will be looking for hibiscus wine at the store today.

 

No drinks to share for the Mother of Dragons, only some hibiscus flowers from my yard.

IMAG0310

 

 

Leave a Reply

